December 21, 2012 11:11 UTC – Time Conversion

We have seen a confusion of this date/time which ends the Maya Calendar before 13.0.0.0 (the new cycle); however remember Mayas did not use a Gregorian calendar. The most common mistake is to refer 11:11 as AM or PM. None are right.

The 11:11 is recorded as Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) for the 2012 Winter Solstice. Here are some definitions and local time conversion for some cities.

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the international time standard. It is the current term for what was commonly referred to as Greenwich Meridian Time (GMT). Zero (0) hours UTC is midnight in Greenwich England, which lies on the zero longitudinal meridian. Universal time is based on a 24 hour clock, therefore, afternoon hours such as 4 pm UTC are expressed as 16:00 UTC (sixteen hours, zero minutes).

The Greenwich Meridian (Prime Meridian or Longitude Zero degrees) marks the starting point of every time zone in the World. GMT is Greenwich Mean (or Meridian) Time is the mean (average) time that the earth takes to rotate from noon-to-noon.

GMT is World Time and the basis of every world time zone which sets the time of day and is at the centre of the time zone map. GMT sets current time or official time around the globe. Most time changes are measured by GMT. Although GMT has been replaced by atomic time (UTC) it is still widely regarded as the correct time for every international time zone.

Where is Greenwich, England?
Longitude 0° 0′ 0″
Latitude 51° 28′ 38″N (North of the Equator)

Greenwich Mean Time is international time, the basis of the world time clock. GMT marks precision time and military time (sometimes called Zulu Time). Defines date and time and the exact time. The atomic time clock is adjusted by leap seconds to maintain synchronicity with GMT.

Local Time Conversion For December 21, 2012 – 11:11:00 UTC (GMT) 24-hour format for some cities:

Mexico City – 05:11:00
Los Angeles – 03:11:00
New York – 06:11:00
Cairo – 13:11:00
Jerusalem – 13:11:00
Sydney – 22:11:00
Berlin – 12:11:00
Tokyo – 20:11:00
London – 11:11:00
Vatican – 12:11:00

Hope we made it right with the conversion chart. If you want to know your local time for this date/time or any other time, here’s a good time zone converter.
Pakalian Group of Mexico

2012 Mayan Prophecy Store
Visit our Mayan Prophecy Store.
Find your thrills and cool stuff.

Click this red link to go to our central store.

Home Icon If you access one of our pages in the blog, click the icon to go to main page.

About these ads

2 Responses to “December 21, 2012 11:11 UTC – Time Conversion”

  1. I am confused more than ever….I have no idea what time the solstice is now. You put 06:11 for America/New York…but what does that mean? Am or Pm? The conversion website doesn’t show that either….just confusing you with so many different explanations of time.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers